Pathallea ~ snippet 2…

Hallie pic

“Hey, girl!” comes an uncanny, somewhat musical voice from my right.  Thoe…

I snap out of my preoccupation, and quickly reach for a plate and utensils.  I start putting food on my plate, and I resist the urge to blush obscenely.

“Was that an infatuation I just witnessed, Hal?” Thoe speaks again, clearly badgering me about it.  She’s like that…

So am I, actually…

I guess that happens after spending many years with Step-dad.

“Think what you will,” I simply reply, returning a smile to her before returning once more to food.

I try to steal another look at Maphis, but no such luck this time.  He’s gone elsewhere, beyond my sights now.

“I could help you out with that, you know, given my prowess in dating,” enters Thoe again.

“Rely on a girl who cannot hold a man for more than a year?  Yeah…” I remark, confidently for once.

“Who chokes up when things get tense?”

Fair enough…

“It has to be me, Thoe,” I say, folding, “it has to be me…”

With that, I give her another kind smile, and continue on with my food business.

Another excerpt from Pathallea…

The girl in the center is named “Hallie.”  She is a human-hybrid being with four arms.

Cheers!  🙂

JD

Leave a Reply

